Four Department of Medicine Faculty Honored with Stanford Health Care Annual Medical Staff Awards

Four Department of Medicine faculty members are recipients of Stanford Health Care’s Annual Medical Staff Awards.

The honorees were celebrated on March 25 at a virtual ceremony. Department Chair Bob Harrington, MD, congratulated the awardees, noting that it was a “great year of recognition for the Department of Medicine!”

Angela Rogers – Physician of the Year Award

Angela Rogers, MD, associate professor of pulmonary, allergy & and critical care medicine, won the Physician of the Year Award. This honor recognizes Rogers’ innovative spirit, ability to motivate her team and commitment to achieving high standards in the practice of medicine. She is a role model for colleagues and widely admired among peers.

In a congratulatory note to Rogers, Mark Nicolls, MD, chief of pulmonary, allergy & critical care medicine writes, “To win this award is phenomenal, but to win it during the COVID-19 pandemic is a true achievement and a measure of how your peers feel about you.”

Rogers say she is incredibly honored to be named Physician of the Year and to be part of an amazing team.

Maja Artandi – Innovations in Care Award

Maja Artandi, MD, clinical associate professor of primary care and population health, is the recipient of this year’s Innovations in Care Award for her visionary approach to problem-solving and dedication to driving positive change.

Over the past year, Artandi demonstrated an unwavering commitment to combating the COVID-19 pandemic. Under her leadership, Stanford Health Care established one of the first drive through testing sites in the nation. She then spearheaded efforts to found the CROWN clinic, a facility that provides medical care to COVID-19 patients who do not require hospitalization. Artandi innovated a new workflow that allows providers to properly care for patients while eliminating exposure and risk.

Megan Mahoney, MD, clinical professor of primary care and population health,  calls Artandi’s accomplishments truly impressive and says she inspires progress at Stanford Medicine and beyond.

Lucy Kalanithi – Excellence in Service Award

An outstanding physician, Lucy Kalanithi, MD, clinical associate professor of primary care and population health, was honored with the Excellence in Service Award. As noted by colleagues, Kalanithi “is able to make every patient feel special and listened to” and goes above and beyond to provide exceptional care.

This award reflects her commitment to forming meaningful relationships with her patients and promoting patient-centric care.

Joseph Hopkins – Medical Staff Leader of the Year Award

Joseph Hopkins, MD, clinical professor of primary care and population health received the Medical Staff Leader of the Year Award. Hopkins has dedicated his skills and talents to caring for Stanford Health’s patients for over 40 years. He is a leader in family and geriatric medicine, patient safety and quality improvement.