Albion Walter Hewlett Award

Charlotte Jacobs, MD, receives the Department of Medicine's Hewlett Award

The Albion Walter Hewlett Award, developed by the Department of Medicine, is a recurring award honoring an exceptional physician with ties to Stanford.

It is a tribute to Doctor Albion Walter Hewlett, professor and executive head of the Department of Medicine from 1916 -1925. Known as a physician of rare compassion and extraordinary skills, Hewlett was recognized for his outstanding contributions to patient care and medical science throughout the world.

About the Hewlett Award

The Artist

Kenneth L. Melmon, MD, chairman of the Department of Medicine from 1978-1984, appointed Agnese Udinotti to create the actual award. Together, they designed the award. A sculpture portrays man, isolated at first by his disease, and then brought back into society through the intervention of the physician. Udinotti has received numerous awards throughout the United States and Europe.

Award Presentation

The award is presented in concert with a major event in the Department of Medicine, at which time the recipient is invited to lecture. Honored physicians receive a parchment seal depicting several figures from the Udinotti sculpture and a silver medallion made from the seal. The award holder has the opportunity to select books or journals for the Hewlett Library in an amount to be determined each year. Each book will bear a bookplate with a picture of the award, the recipient's name, and the date when the award was presented. The awardee is selected by a committee of past recipients.

The Award was created by artist Agnese Udinotti

Dr. Albion Hewlett was known for his compassion


Richard Hoppe

2022 Hewlett Award Winner

Paul Yock


Philip Sunshine


Mark Blumenkranz


Maurice Druzin


Richard Popp


Charlotte Jacobs


Thomas Krummel


Sharon Hunt


Sarah Donaldson


Beverly Mitchell