Current Residents


Current residents

Alumni Resident Spotlight

Jason Leong

Jason Leong is a PGY-5 resident in the combined internal medicine and anesthesiology (IM/Anesth) residency track. Starting next year Jason will be staying at Stanford to complete fellowships in both adult cardiothoracic anesthesia and then critical care medicine. Jason's has interest in critical care medicine, cardiothoracic anesthesia and ICU triage. As a resident Jason worked under Dr. Geoffrey Lighthall examining the effects of indirect ICU admissions on mortality in both medical and surgical patient populations. Jason presented his research at the Society of Critical Care Medicine Conference 2018. True to his interest in triage and past career as an emergency room registered nurse, Jason was selected as the Stanford Emergency Medicine "Most Outstanding Off-Service Rotator of the year". Jason feels privileged to have been part of the first combined Im/Anesth residency class at Stanford and is thrilled to be able to stay at Stanford for both of his fellowships. After his fellowship training Jason plans to make a career out of caring for patients undergoing cardiothoracic surgery starting with providing their anesthesia in the OR to caring for them throughout their ICU stay.

Julia Chang

Julia Chang is a current PGY-3 resident who will be starting her endocrinology fellowship at Stanford next year. Her academic interests are in diabetes, obesity, and women's health in the areas of fertility and polycystic ovarian syndrome. Under the mentorship of Dr. Sun H. Kim, she studied the use of weight loss medications in women with obesity and infertility and its effect on pregnancy and birth outcomes. She presented her research at the annual ENDO meeting in 2018. Julia also has a special interest in transgender medicine. During her residency, Julia spent a month at a community clinic in San Francisco learning to provide quality primary care and hormone management for transgender adults. She is also part of a resident task force focusing on the improvement of LGBT health curricula for internal medicine residents. In May 2018, Julia was recognized by her peers for outstanding clinical judgment as the recipient of the Clinical Decision-Making Award. Julia is excited to stay at Stanford and hopes to continue her career as an academic clinician educator.

James Tooley, III

James Tooley is a PGY-3 resident who will be starting a cardiology fellowship at Stanford next year. James is interested in digital health, data science, and applications of deep-learning techniques to large-scale EMR data. As a resident under the mentorship of Marco Perez, MD he has created a database of over a million ECGs taken at Stanford Health Care. He is also interested in novel uses of the EMR for randomizing patients to medical interventions. Under the mentorship of Lance Downing, MD he has studied an influenza vaccination reminder sent to over 150,000 primary care patients at Stanford. As a resident he was the recipient of the Julian Wolfsohn Award, has published peer-reviewed research articles, presented at national conferences, and served as the co-president of the Stanford IM Resident Research Group. As a cardiology fellow he plans to complete a research fellowship in biomedical informatics and advanced clinical training in electrophysiology. He is the proud father of a 1-year old son.

Surbhi Singhal

Surbhi Singhal is a current PGY-3 who will be staying at Stanford next year as a chief resident. Surbhi’s academic interest is in improving the delivery of healthcare to underserved patients. To this end, she worked under the mentorship of Dr. Lisa Shieh to create and disseminate standardized discharge instructions in English and Spanish to ensure the delivery of critical information in a time of high patient vulnerability. In the spring of 2018, Surbhi was awarded the Stanford Society of Physician Scholars Grant, facilitating interdisciplinary collaboration to better assess the impact of standardized discharge letters on Spanish-speaking patients and identify further patient communication barriers. Surbhi is also invested in the professional development of medical trainees, and in conjunction with the Stanford hospitalists developed an intervention to improve the delivery of constructive feedback to internal medicine residents on inpatient wards. She hopes that her year as a chief resident will help further refine her medical education skills so she can teach trainees the skills to effectively serve diverse patient populations in a changing healthcare landscape.

Sonia Shah

Sonia Shah is a current PGY-3 resident who will be completing a cardiology fellowship at UT Southwestern next year. Sonia has an interest in cardiovascular disease in women, and under the mentorship of Dr. William Fearon, has focused on understanding sex differences in coronary physiology and cardiovascular outcomes. She recently received the 2018 Stanford Research Symposium Award for her research on sex differences in intracoronary perfusion measures and has presented her research at the American Heart Association and American College of Cardiology annual meetings. Sonia is also a member of the Stanford Society of Physician Scholars, which supports collaboration and the academic development of medical trainees at Stanford. She plans to pursue a career in academic medicine and credits the Clinical Teaching Pathway of Distinction for refining her teaching skills during residency.

Ulysses Rosas

Ulysses Rosas is a PGY-3 who will be completing a Gastroenterology fellowship at Cedars-Sinai. Under the mentorship of Dr. Uri Ladabaum and Dr. Jennifer Y Pan, Ulysses' research focuses on tracking physician adherence to post-polypectomy surveillance guideline recommendations. He received the NIH/NHMA Academic Career Fellow Travel Award and was recognized in January 2018 with the “Clinical Decision-Making Award”. This award serves to recognize moments of exceptional clinical decision-making by residents in Stanford’s Internal Medicine Residency program. Ulysses credits his time at Stanford with continuing to expose him to further his career goals in academic medicine. Ulysses is also a member of the GME and Medicine Residency Diversity Committees. While on these committees, Ulysses has worked to help increase Stanford’s outreach and support for residents from diverse and traditionally underrepresented backgrounds in medicine and championed the mentoring outreach efforts with Stanford medical students.

Chief Residents 2019-2020

Rebecca Tisdale (Columbia), Amy Rogers Filsoof (Northwestern), and Surbhi Singhal (U Wisconsin). Chief Bios

First Cohort of Medicine Anesthesia Track (Graduating PGY-5 Residents)

Amy Kloosterboer (U Wisconsin), Jai Madhok (Stanford University), and Jason Leong (Albert Einstein)