Awards & Honors

The Department of Medicine takes pride in our members’ excellence, and we recognize our faculty achievements through a variety of awards.

Our faculty lead the field of medicine in advancing equity in medicine, providing exceptional teaching for new generations of doctors, and pushing the boundaries of research and physician care.

We honor the truly outstanding in our department with special honors.

We hope you’ll join us in championing those who exemplify what it means to be faculty in the Stanford Department of Medicine.

Richard Hoppe, MD
Recipient of the 2022 Hewlett Award

Hewlett Award

The Albion Walter Hewlett award was developed by the Department of Medicine as a recurring award to honor an extraordinary physician in the stanford community. it's named for Albion Walter Hewlett. professor and executive head of the stantord Department of Medicine from 1916–1925. who was renowned for his outstanding contributions to patient care and medical science.

RecIpients are those who have made a substantial commitment to Stanford and who have consistently, over decades, demonstrated the exemplary combination of a scientific approach to medicine and compassionate patient care.

Congratulating Felicia Hui, MD
2022 Teaching Awards

Department of Medicine Teaching Award

The Teaching Awards recognize our extraordinary educators and all the work, joy, time, and energy they put into helping shape the next generation of medical professionals.

Presented to one or more extraordinary teachers from each division within the department, these awards stand as a uplifting commitment to the value of teaching as a pillar of medicine education.

Department of Medicine Diversity Committee

Medicine Chair Diversity Investigator Award

The Department of Medicine Chair Diversity Investigator Awards champion research that address health inequity, social determinants of health, cultural competence, outcomes improvement, and health system access/utilization for racial, ethnic, gender, and queer minorities.

Medicine Chair Diversity Investigator Award honorees advance innovative and impactful research that demonstrates a commitment to diversity, a benefit to individuals from underserved communities or populations, or the elimination of health care disparities.

Department of Medicine Honors

In addition to recognizing the excellence of our own faculty, the Stanford Department of Medicine also honors outstanding contributions to medicine from prominent researchers and physicians across the field.

Kovitz Lecture Award

Offered jointly by the Stanford Department of Medicine and Department of Surgery, the Louis & Dorothy Kovitz Visiting Professorship Lecture recognizes exceptional physicians from the United States and the international medicine field. Kovitz Lecturers are invited to Stanford to speak regarding their work.

Rubenstein Award

The Edward Rubenstein Lecturer Award honors those with a strong record of making basic science and/or translational medicine discoveries that have import for internal medicine. Rubenstein Lecturers are invited to speak at the Stanford Department of Medicine about their work, honoring Dr. Rebenstein’s legacy of educating clinicians about basic science.