Awards and Honors: Summer 2021

Celebrating the accomplishments of Department of Medicine faculty and staff

Errol Ozdalga Named Associate Chair of Communications for the Department of Medicine

Congratulations to Errol Ozdalga, MD, clinical associate professor of medicine, who will serve as the Department of Medicine’s new Associate Chair of Communications.  This change in title reflects both the ongoing growth of and need for outstanding communications across all media and recognizes Ozdalga’s contributions across a broad variety of communication, DEI, and teaching activities.

Ozdalga was responsible for the rapid pivot to virtual Medicine Grand Rounds at the start of the Covid pandemic in March 2020.  This shift resulted in a much broader reach, a larger, more engaged audience and outstanding speakers drawn from around the globe. Among many other duties as Associate Chair, Errol will continue efforts to support and promote the work of individual faculty across all our missions. 

Cathy Garzio Receives 2021 Amy J. Blue Award

Cathy Garzio, Director of Finance and Administration and Vice Chair of the Department of Medicine, has just been named one of the three Amy J. Blue Award recipients for 2021. The award honors university staff members who are exceptionally dedicated, supportive of colleagues, and passionate about their work. Faculty and staff colleagues have described Cathy as “the wizard behind the curtain” and “a very effective change agent” who has had “a transformative effect on the department.” They note that she is “visionary, strategic, and energetic,” citing her many achievements as a leader and a remarkable mentor who sets an example that others emulate. The 2021 awards will be presented at an in-person celebration in the fall.

Jonathan Maltzman Receives the American Society of Transplantation’s Basic Science Investigator Award 

Congratulations to Jonathan Maltzman, MD, PhD, associate professor of nephrology, who received the American Society of Transplantation’s Basic Science Investigator Award. The award recognizes individuals who have made substantial contributions to the field of transplantation medicine. Maltzman has over 20 years of experience in transplantation as a clinician and basic investigator as well as a strong record of impactful discoveries in transplant immunology.  

During the COVID-19 pandemic, Maltzman began a new line of investigation that addresses antibody responses to the SARS-CoV-2 virus. He was instrumental in developing a multiplex assay to detect these antibodies, quickly obtained funding, and is now investigating the relationship of SARS-CoV-2 infection and the development of anti-HLA antibodies.  The American Society of Transplantation states, “As a wonderfully collaborative, effective, and organized physician-scientist, dedicated to both AST and other societies, Dr. Maltzman is highly deserving of this award.”


Matthew McCarra Wins Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Physician-Scientist Fellowship 

Congratulations to Matthew McCarra, MD, clinical scholar and postdoctoral research fellow in pulmonary, allergy, and critical care medicine, for winning the Chan Zuckerberg (CZ) Biohub Physician-Scientist Fellowship. The CZ fellowship is designed to “develop the next generation of physician-scientists and equip them with the skills, vocabulary, and knowledge necessary to contribute substantively to biomedical discovery.” McCarry had a distinguished fellowship at Stanford, and he was selected to be a Chief Fellow in 2018-2019. He is now involved in basic science research on lung stem cells in health and disease. 

John Gubatan Named Doris Duke Physician Scientist Fellow

John Gubatan, MD, chief fellow in gastroenterology and hepatology, was just named one of 11 Doris Duke Physician Scientist Fellows.  This program promises to "launch promising physician scientists – who bring invaluable insights to the research enterprise from their interactions with patients – into the next phase of their clinical research careers." 

Each selected fellow is receiving two years of funding and will work under the supervision of a mentor who will guide them toward successful biomedical research careers.  Congratulations to John!

Brian Blackburn Receives Alwin C. Rambar-James B.D. Mark Award

Brian Blackburn, MD, professor of infectious diseases, received the Alwin C. Rambar-James B.D. Mark Award for Excellence in Patient Care, which recognizes a member of the medical faculty for compassion in working with patients and their families, excellence in providing medical treatment, and effectiveness and pleasantness in interactions with patient-care staff.

Eric Strong Receives Lawrence H. Mathers Award

Eric Strong, MD, clinical associate professor of medicine, received the Lawrence H. Mathers Award for Exceptional Commitment to Teaching and Active Involvement in Medical School Education.

Kevin Chi and Andrew Nevins Receive Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation Award for Preclinical Teaching

Kevin Chi, MD, clinical assistant professor of pediatrics; Andrew Nevins, MD, clinical associate professor of infectious diseases; and Yasmin Owusu received the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation Award for Preclinical Teaching.

David Chang Receives Award for Exceptional Contributions to Service Learning

David Chang, MD, DrPH, clinical assistant professor of primary care and population health, received the Award for Exceptional Contributions to Service-Learning.

Julieta Gabiola, Anson Lowe, and Peter Pompei Receive Award for Exceptional Service to School of Medicine

Maurice Druzin, MD, professor of obstetrics and gynecology; Jeffrey Dunn, MD, clinical professor of neurology and neurological sciences; Julieta Gabiola, MD, clinical professor of primary care and population health; Paula Hillard, MD, professor of obstetrics and gynecology; Anson Lowe, MD, associate professor of gastroenterology and hepatology; Peter Pompei, MD, clinical professor in primary care and population health; and Donald Regula, MD, professor of pathology, received the Oscar Salvatierra Award for Exceptional Service to Stanford Medical Students and the School of Medicine.