Honors, Awards, and Funding

 Department of Medicine  >>  Faculty  >>  Faculty Honors and Awards

Members of our community often receive recognition for their outstanding contributions to their respective fields. This page showcases their accomplishments. Here you’ll find a list of current award opportunities, Department-sponsored funding, and a roundup of recent accomplishments.

Explore this Page

Hewlett Award

The Albion Walter Hewlett Award is a department-sponsored award honoring an exceptional physician with ties to Stanford. It's named for Albion Walter Hewlett, professor and executive head of the Stanford Department of Medicine from 1916-1925, who was renowned for his outstanding contributions to patient care and medical science.

2022 Recipient

Richard Hoppe, MD

The 2022 Hewlett Award winner is Richard T. Hoppe, MD, a trailblazer for new cancer treatments and innovator of techniques for the delivery of radiation.

Learn more

2021 Recipient

Paul Yock, MD

The 2021 awardee is Paul Yock, MD, an interventional cardiologist and professor emeritus of medicine and bioengineering.

Learn more

2020 Recipient

Philip Sunshine, MD

The 2020 awardee is Philip Sunshine, MD, professor emeritus of pediatrics, who is known as one of the “founding fathers of neonatology.”

Learn more

2019 Recipient

Mark Blumenkranz, MD

The 2019 Hewlett Award winner was Mark S. Blumenkranz, MD, MMS, H. J. Smead professor of ophthalmology, emeritus. An extraordinarily gifted eye surgeon with a focus on vitreoretinal diseases, he has also succeeded in such administrative roles as head of the vitreoretinal service; department chairman for 18 years; and involvement in the planning, fundraising, and construction of the Byers Eye Institute of Stanford, which he served as founding director between 2010 and 2015.

Learn more

DoM Award & Funding Opportunities

The following links showcase a list of current department-hosted award opportunities and funding resources available for faculty and staff.

DOM Chair Diversity Investigator Award

Applications are due June 30, 2022,  with the award period to start September 1, 2022.  

The DOM Chair Diversity Investigator Awards will support research that addresses health inequity, social determinants of health, cultural competence, outcomes improvement, health system access/utilization for racial, ethnic and sexual and gender minorities, among many other possibilities. We hope to receive proposals that will demonstrate benefit to individuals from underserved communities or populations. 

If you have questions, please be in touch with Lisa Moore -Long, lmlong@stanford.edu who is helping administer the program this year. The application portal can be accessed here. You can read about last year’s winners here: 2021 DOM Diversity investigators.

Hewlett Award

Deadline: 2020 nomination period closed. 

The Albion Walter Hewlett Award, developed by the Department of Medicine, is a recurring award honoring an exceptional physician with ties to Stanford. It is a tribute to Doctor Albion Walter Hewlett, professor and executive head of the Department of Medicine from 1916 -1925. Known as a physician of rare compassion and extraordinary skills, Hewlett was recognized for his outstanding contributions to patient care and medical science throughout the world. Read about past awards and recipients.

Department of Medicine Teaching Awards

Deadline: 2021 nomination period has closed. 

Read about past awards

Award Recipients

Department of Medicine faculty and staff frequently receive recognition for their contributions. Here’s a list of recent awards and distinctions.