Faculty Honors and Awards

 Department of Medicine  >>  Faculty  >>  Faculty Honors and Awards

The Department of Medicine houses over 540 faculty members, 490 trainees, and 879 staff members and research associates who are all devoted to excellence in research, education, and patient care.

Members of our community often receive recognition for their outstanding contributions to their respective fields. This page showcases their accomplishments. Here you’ll find a list of current award opportunities, Department-sponsored funding, and a roundup of recent accomplishments.


Award & Funding Opportunities

The following links showcase a list of current award opportunities and funding resources available for faculty and staff.

Stanford Child Health Research Institute Pilot Grants Program 

Deadline: April 2

The Stanford Child Health Research Institute (CHRI) Pilot Grants funds innovative maternal and child1 health-focused clinical and translational research in the following categories:  
Category I:   Pilot Early Career ($35K) - for Instructors and Assistant Professors only. 
Category II:   New Ideas for Mid/Senior Investigators ($35K) – for Associate Professors and Professors only. Learn more

Stanford Child Health Research Institute Clinician Educator Grants Program 

Deadline: April 2 

The Clinician Educator (CE) Grants Program is here to encourage, develop, and support CE’s to pursue clinical research studies that promote their ability to achieve external funding. Applications may include involvement of other Allied Health Professionals. The program seeks innovative, well-developed proposals that pursue clinical research relevant to their clinical practice related to maternal child health research. Learn more

CERC Design Fellowship 

Deadline: Rolling Admission. Program begins in August.

Stanford University’s Clinical Excellence Research Center (CERC) design fellowship provides an opportunity to gain knowledge, skills, and experience in value-based health care delivery innovation. We seek early-career aspiring innovators from diverse backgrounds – healthcare, social sciences, behavioral and management sciences, and engineering - who have the potential to become leaders in the design of higher value healthcare. For information, contact the fellowship coordinator at cercinquiry@stanford.edu. Learn more

Hewlett Award

The Albion Walter Hewlett Award is a department-sponsored award honoring an exceptional physician with ties to Stanford. It's named for Albion Walter Hewlett, professor and executive head of the Stanford Department of Medicine from 1916-1925, who was renowned for his outstanding contributions to patient care and medical science.

Meet the 2017 Hewlett Award Recipient

The 2017 Hewlett Award winner was Richard Popp, MD, professor emeritus of cardiovascular medicine. He was recognized for his long career, but in particular his work with imaging modality. "From M-mode to two-dimensional and three-dimensional imaging of the heart’s structures, Popp and his colleagues transformed ultrasound of the heart by learning to measure volumes, ejection fraction, and pressure gradients."


Award Recipients

Department of Medicine faculty and staff frequently receive recognition for their contributions. Here’s a list of recent awards and distinctions.

Page Index